Oregon Board Tax Preparer (OBTP) Continuing Education and Renewal Requirements

Renewal registration and CE must be complete by September 30th each year to maintain your status as an OBTP

Oregon-Logo-smTo renew your registration in Oregon you must… 

  1. Complete 30 hours of continuing education related to tax law and tax preparation per year. You must attest to having completed a minimum of 30 hours of acceptable continuing education during the 13 months prior to each license year.
  2. Continuing education is waived for the first renewal of a tax preparer. All tax preparer licenses expire annually on September 30th following initial application for license or renewal. Renewal applications are due no later than October 15th (postmark date). OBTP gives you a grace period of two weeks, during which time you do not have to pay the $35 reactivation fee (late fee). On the renewal application, you will self-attest that you have met the annual education requirements.
  3. Tax preparers who allow their licenses to lapse or be inactive for less than three years must attest to 30 hours of acceptable continuing education for each lapsed or inactive year to qualify for license renewal or reactivation.

The Income Tax School offer numerous CE tax seminars and advanced tax courses for your continuing education: Check out our tax course catalog

For more information about OBTP: